Review: The Steel Remains – Richard Morgan

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Audiobook, narrated by Simon Vance.

Ringil Eskiath, wielder of The Raven’s Friend, noble, warrior, hero, legend, pervert, degenerate, twisted abomination, outcaste, drunkard all true depending on who you ask. All he asked was to be left alone. He’d done his bit. He’d saved his people, and been rejected by them once the cheering died down. He certainly didn’t want to go off on some stupid search for a missing cousin, sold into slavery and abandoned by her immediate family, simply because his mother felt guilty about it. He would have been even more vehement in his refusal if he had known exactly where the search would take him. But mothers always know what levers will move their recalcitrant children. And so begin his first steps into a world where myths and gods of ages past walk the streets.

I usually listen to audiobooks while doing other things, but this one kept dragging me away from the mundane world and into Ringil’s. I’d find myself staring blankly at whatever I had been doing and realise that I’d just lost another half hour to the tale. I suspect that reading the book would be one of those times when I start reading in the evening and realise that the sun is coming up just as I finish it. The sequel, The Cold Commands, is calling to me now and I wonder if I can resist the call until my next Audible credits arrive!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

